Posts in “databases” (150)
Blog Articles
World Book Online is a great resource for children and teens. If you want to go directly to one of the four modules on our database page, now you can! You can find biographies of notable… continue reading World Book Online is Now Even Better!
By written by Sharyl O. March 19, 2024 3
We are so excited to announce that American Sign Language is now available on Mango Languages ! American Sign Language (often called ASL) is used by Deaf and hard-of-hearing people to… continue reading Learn American Sign Language with Mango Languages
By written by Meredith M. March 7, 2024 4
The Free Library’s most powerful grant-finding tool just got a lot easier to use. Before, to access the Library’s premier fundraising tool, Foundation Directory, you had to travel to… continue reading Foundation Directory Has Expanded
By written by Jamie B. February 27, 2024
The last Thursday of February each year is known as Digital Learning Day — a day dedicated to innovative, future-focused education that utilizes technology. At the Free… continue reading Celebrate Digital Learning with the Free Library's Resource Database
By written by Bridget G. February 15, 2024
Recognized with 132 Pulitzer Prizes and appreciated by over nine million subscribers globally, we are happy to announce that the Free Library's daily New York Time s subscription has… continue reading Our PressReader Database Now Includes The New York Times
By written by Sharyl O. January 29, 2024
We were pleased to offer our community so many new Electronic Resources/Databases this year! Here are all of the new resources introduced since January 1, 2023: Films to Stream : Kanopy… continue reading Celebrating Our New Electronic Resources of 2023
By written by Sharyl O. December 18, 2023
We are happy to introduce five new databases from POWER Library , Pennsylvania's Electronic Library, that are now available on our databases page under POWER Library Britannica School Edition… continue reading Five New Databases from POWER Library
By written by Sharyl O. October 6, 2023
The JSTOR database, which provides more than 12 million scholarly journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, has changed its access policies.… continue reading JSTOR Database Access Has Changed
By written by Sharyl O. September 25, 2023
We are happy to announce the return of four popular electronic resources that are no longer carried by POWER Library, Pennsylvania’s Electronic Library. The Free Library of… continue reading 4 Gale Databases Return to the Free Library
By written by Sharyl O. September 13, 2023
We are very proud of our electronic resources, also known as databases, and want to update you on some changes. As of August 1, 2023, POWER Library Pennsylvania's Electronic Library will… continue reading Free Library of Philadelphia Database Updates
By written by Sharyl O. August 7, 2023 1
Hey book lovers! Did you know you can read, read, read, with just a tap of your finger — and without ever having to go to the library? Try digital books, also known as e-books! You can… continue reading Everything You Need To Know About Free Library E-Books
By written by Sharyl O. August 4, 2023 10
We are happy to announce that more than 1,000 new videos have been added to our Kanopy PLUS subscription. The library has purchased these two new film packs, recently introduced by… continue reading More Kanopy Films Added
By written by Sharyl O. May 22, 2023
We are pleased to announce the launch of World Book Online , the online version of World Book Encyclopedia . It’s a great resource for children and teens and makes learning fun! World… continue reading Enjoy a Trustworthy Digital Encyclopedia With World Book Online
By written by Sharyl O. March 28, 2023
NewspaperArchive is an online database of billions (and yes, that’s BILLIONS with a B!) of newspaper articles from Pennsylvania, the U.S. (all 50 states plus Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin… continue reading NewspaperArchive Is a Blast From the Past!
By written by Sharyl O. March 22, 2023 2
If you like documentaries, world cinema, or films for kids, we think you will love our latest electronic resource: Access Videos! These three collections have no monthly watch limits… continue reading New Databases from Access Videos on Demand
By written by Sharyl O. March 3, 2023 2
What is Overdrive? Overdrive is the Free Library of Philadelphia’s portal to thousands of e-books, e-audiobooks, and e-magazines that you can read for free using your Free Library of… continue reading The Overdrive App is Being Replaced with Libby
By written by Sharyl O. March 1, 2023 15
Using your library card, you can now enjoy Black history in the oral tradition via The HistoryMakers Digital Archive : the largest video archive of African American history spanning from the… continue reading The HistoryMakers: Enjoy African American History On-Demand
By written by Bridget G. January 19, 2023
What better way to learn about Black history than through the lens of Black news sources, as written and published by the African American journalists of yesterday? The Free Library is pleased to… continue reading All the Historic Black Newspapers Available Online With Your Library Card
By written by Administrator January 18, 2023 2
The Free Library is very pleased to announce the return of Kanopy, the popular on-demand video streaming service that The New York Times has called, "a garden of cinematic… continue reading Kanopy is Back!
By written by Sharyl O. January 17, 2023 24
Updated - Online access to the New York Times has now been restored. Please review the steps needed to access the New York Times online with your library card . Editor's Note: This post was… continue reading New York Times Electronic Access Workaround - UPDATED
By written by Sharyl O. January 4, 2023 4