Tagged
Exercising With Baby: Babies Need Exercise, Too!
Hey there, new parents and caregivers! It's time to get those little bundles of joy moving and grooving — babies need exercise too! Picture this: your adorable baby, exploring the world with those tiny hands and…
The Fleisher Collection in LGBTQ+ Cinema
The Fleisher Collection of Orchestral Music at the Free Library of Philadelphia houses over 22,000 pieces. Works are available for loan to amateur and professional performance groups worldwide, and many motion picture…
New Titles Coming to the Free Library in June
The Free Library of Philadelphia celebrates LGBTQ+ Pride Month in June with book and film recommendations and events for all ages! Young Children (up to 2nd Grade) Joyful Song: A Naming Story by Lesléa Newman; illustrated by…
Summertime Fun and STEM Enrichment at the Free Library
To build an enlightened community devoted to lifelong learning, The Free Library is an advocate and valuable resource for students in and around the City of Philadelphia. The Free Library Foundation proudly supports the Library’s…
Are You The Next Youth Poet Laureate?
Are you a student in (or entering) high school passionate about writing, reading, performing, and experiencing poetry? Are you equally passionate about working with your peers and other students to bring more poetry to Philadelphia? If…
One More Bite
Join us Wednesday, June 5, 2024 in the Print and Picture Collection for a hands-on history event inspired by We Are What We Eat , the latest exhibition from the Free Library's Special Collections . Drop in anytime between 4:30 p.m.…
Community College Classes at the Library
The Community College of Philadelphia and the Free Library partnered to provide English as a Second Language (ESL) and High School Equivalency (HSE) classes in neighborhood libraries ! The Community College of Philadelphia…
Will This Make Me Eat My Vegetables?
If you're a history- and vegetable-lover who DOES NOT suffer from coulrophobia, then we have a program for you! If you do suffer from a fear of clowns, then we *might* have a program for you. The choice is yours;…
Author Event: The Warehouse: A Visual Primer on Mass Incarceration
Philadelphia has the highest incarceration rate of any city in Pennsylvania, and the most locked-up census tracts in North Philadelphia have 17 times as many people behind bars as census tracts in Center City, according to the Prison…
Celebrate Pride Month with the Free Library
Every June the Free Library celebrates LGBTQIA+ Pride Month. The Free Library aims to be a place where everyone belongs. We value the LGBTQIA+ community, including transgender people and transgender youth, as one of many valued…
Get Ready for an Exciting Summer of Wonder at the Free Library!
Summer of Wonder is the Free Library's flagship summer reading challenge for all ages. Participants can attend library programs, find new books to read, and explore activities to stay engaged throughout the summer. Summer of Wonder…
Programs Supported by the Free Library Foundation
There is so much to love about the Free Library of Philadelphia. As one of the most important educational and cultural institutions in the city, the Library goes beyond books to strengthen local communities and achieve its mission .…
New Achievement Unlocked: Video Game Circulation!
The Free Library is excited to announce the addition of video games to its vast catalog of borrowable materials! Why video games at the library, you ask? Well, stories aren't confined to books alone! Video games present immersive…
Patron Perks: Save on Great Shows and Win Cool Prizes
Now you can win great prizes and access special offers just for being a patron of the Free Library of Philadelphia! Arden Theatre Company: Once On This Island In search of her place in the world with guidance from…
Join Us for the One Book, One Philadelphia Finale Celebration
The 2024 One Book, One Philadelphia season is coming to a close with an exciting finale event ! Join True Biz author Sara Nović and poet Ilya Kaminsky — author of 2019 National Book Award finalist …
New World Language Learning Books in the Free Library's Catalog
Languages and Learning is the Free Library of Philadelphia's department for adult education support, connecting patrons seeking Adult Basic Education , English Language Learner , and World Language support to the appropriate…
Celebrating Printmaker Chen Lok Lee
The Print and Picture Collection is proud to present a program highlighting the work of artist and Master Printer Chen Lok Lee on Wednesday, May 15 at 4:30 p.m. Born in China in 1927, Lee studied at the Canton Public Art College and…
Resources for Small Business Owners and Job Seekers
May is National Small Business Month , according to the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, and a time to celebrate the contributions of small businesses in communities across the country. Like the Free Library of Philadelphia, small…
Tech Talk: Digital Skills Classes for Adults
In partnership with Temple University College of Education and Human Development, the Free Library of Philadelphia is excited to announce a new free digital learning series: Tech Talk: Digital Skills for Adult Learners . The…
No Rules, Just Read: Children's Book Week
Happy Children’s Book Week, Philadelphia! Founded in 1919 — thus marking its 105th anniversary this year — Children’s Book Week is the nation’s longest-running national literacy initiative. This year,…
Fun Fridays
Join us on Fridays for crafts, science experiments, or games! This program is for school age children, beginning at 3 p.m
Imagine More Story Adventures with Thembi Palmer
Join the ever amazing Thembi Palmer of Imagine More: Story Adventures for a fantastic story time! Thembi Palmer is committed to promoting literacy by developing a love of reading and books in young children, pre-K through 4th grade. She…
Fun Fridays
Join us on Fridays for crafts, science experiments, or games! This program is for school age children, beginning at 3 p.m
Fun Fridays
Join us on Fridays for crafts, science experiments, or games! This program is for school age children, beginning at 3 p.m
Fun Fridays
Join us on Fridays for crafts, science experiments, or games! This program is for school age children, beginning at 3 p.m
Celebrate the 75th Anniversary of the Rare Book Department: The Judaica Collection.
Come and explore the Rare Book Department's small but signifcant Judaica Collection. Highlights of the collection will include a manusucript written in the beginning of the Spanish Inquisition, as well as…
Fun Fridays
Join us on Fridays for crafts, science experiments, or games! This program is for school age children, beginning at 3 p.m
Beginner English
Mondays and Wednesdays 3-4:30 pm (September 4 - November 18, 2024) For Beginner English learners, this course offers structured lessons to enhance your ability to read, write, listen, and speak in English. The class focuses on practical…
English and Digital Literacy
Mondays and Fridays 12:30-2 pm (September 20 - November 18, 2024) Are you looking to improve your English language and digital literacy skills? Join us at the library for this empowering program taught by two University of…
Fun Fridays
Join us on Fridays for crafts, science experiments, or games! This program is for school age children, beginning at 3 p.m
Imagine More Story Adventures with Thembi Palmer
Join the ever amazing Thembi Palmer of Imagine More: Story Adventures for a fantastic story time! Thembi Palmer is committed to promoting literacy by developing a love of reading and books in young children, pre-K through 4th grade. She…
English and Digital Literacy
Mondays and Fridays 12:30-2 pm (September 20 - November 18, 2024) Are you looking to improve your English language and digital literacy skills? Join us at the library for this empowering program taught by two University of…
Beginner English
Mondays and Wednesdays 3-4:30 pm (September 4 - November 18, 2024) For Beginner English learners, this course offers structured lessons to enhance your ability to read, write, listen, and speak in English. The class focuses on practical…
English and Digital Literacy
Mondays and Fridays 12:30-2 pm (September 20 - November 18, 2024) Are you looking to improve your English language and digital literacy skills? Join us at the library for this empowering program taught by two University of…
Beginner English
Mondays and Wednesdays 3-4:30 pm (September 4 - November 18, 2024) For Beginner English learners, this course offers structured lessons to enhance your ability to read, write, listen, and speak in English. The class focuses on practical…
Beginner English
Mondays and Wednesdays 3-4:30 pm (September 4 - November 18, 2024) For Beginner English learners, this course offers structured lessons to enhance your ability to read, write, listen, and speak in English. The class focuses on practical…
English and Digital Literacy
Mondays and Fridays 12:30-2 pm (September 20 - November 18, 2024) Are you looking to improve your English language and digital literacy skills? Join us at the library for this empowering program taught by two University of…
Fun Fridays
Join us on Fridays for crafts, science experiments, or games! This program is for school age children, beginning at 3 p.m
English and Digital Literacy
Mondays and Fridays 12:30-2 pm (September 20 - November 18, 2024) Are you looking to improve your English language and digital literacy skills? Join us at the library for this empowering program taught by two University of…
Beginner English
Mondays and Wednesdays 3-4:30 pm (September 4 - November 18, 2024) For Beginner English learners, this course offers structured lessons to enhance your ability to read, write, listen, and speak in English. The class focuses on practical…
Want to Read
Books I want to read when there is time
Board Books All About Summer
As the days get longer and we all start to dream about trips to the shore and picnics in the park, take a break from the heat and introduce your baby to the sights, sounds, and experiences of the summer season!
Ed Wilcox
Books selected by local artist Ed Wilcox in conjunction with his May 2024 display: https://libwww.freelibrary.org/calendar/event/137122
LGBTQ+ Imaginative Fiction
Imagine new experiences in speculative futures and magical worlds when you check out these recommended science fiction, fantasy, historical fiction, horror, and supernatural titles.
LGBTQ+ Nonfiction
Investigate the history, science, and social science of LGBTQ+ peoples and communities with these recommended titles.
Pride Picture Books
Read aloud titles from this list for families and early readers about Pride and loving yourself.
Queer Histories
Celebrate Pride Month in June and all year round with these titles in queer history!
Pride Month 2024
New additions to the catalog representing LGBTQ+ artists and subjects
The Warehouse
Materials on art by incarcerated artists , artists responding to mass incarceration and artists using data visualization in conjunction with a series of events and an exhibit at Parkway Central Library highlighting The Warehouse: A…
Celebrate Arts and Aging
In conjunction with Older Americans month in May, we are partnering with the Philadelphia Corporation of Aging to present its 22nd annual Celebrate Arts & Aging (CAA) exhibition of artwork by artists 55+. The event features more than 165…
Rocketfest Photography Exhibit
Presented in partnership with Science Leadership Academy, Rocketfest brings together public high school students from across Philadelphia for a photography exhibit in the Heim Center on the first floor of Parkway Central:…
Be a Space Scientist!
Reading recommendations to get ready for 2024 Science in the Summer! All resources available at: https://scienceinthesummer.fi.edu/be-a-space-scientist
Value Line
Research, recommendations, rankings & financial information on 3,500 stocks, more than 2,000 mutual funds, as well as options, convertibles, & OTC special situations.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon…
TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. Check out our home user guide
TrueFlix *
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an authoritative, comprehensive Web-based reference work about philosophy, useful to scholars of all levels as well as the general public. Published through Stanford University’s Center for the…
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
With an extraordinary array of more than 35,000 individual tracks of streaming music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, users can listen to performances by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger…
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. It includes nearly 2,000 titles, with every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery,…
SimplyAnalytics
A mapping and data visualization application that makes it easy to create interactive maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data.
Daniel Schlozman and Sam Rosenfeld | The Hollow Parties: The Many Pasts and Disordered Present of American Party Politics
In conversation with author and Pennsylvania State Senator, Nikil Saval In The Hollow Parties , Daniel Schlozman and Sam Rosenfeld present a comprehensive history of the rise of American mass party politics through the Jacksonian era up…
George Stephanopoulos | The Situation Room: The Inside Story of Presidents in Crisis
Meelya Gordon Memorial Lecture In conversation with Tamala Edwards, anchor, 6abc Action News morning edition. ABC News’ Chief Anchor, the host of This Week with George Stephanopoulos , and co-anchor of Good Morning America , George…
Paul Hendrickson | Fighting the Night: Iwo Jima, WW II and a Flyer’s Life
In conversation with Wil Haygood Paul Hendrickson ’s books include Sons of Mississippi , winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award; Hemingway’s Boat: Everything He Loved in Life, and Lost, 1934–1961 , a National Book Critics…
Claire Messud | This Strange Eventful History: A Novel
In conversation with Laura McGrath, Assistant Professor of English at Temple University “Among our greatest contemporary writers” ( The Miami Herald ), Claire Messud is the author of The Emperor’s Children , a cutting portrait of…
Colm Tóibín | Long Island: A Novel
“His generation’s most gifted writer of love’s complicated, contradictory power” (Los Angeles Times) , Colm Tóibín is the author of an impressive list of novels, short stories, essays, plays, poetry, and criticism. His novels The…
Jen Psaki | Say More: Lessons from Work, the White House, and the World
In conversation with Annie Duke An “unflappable and genial point-person” ( The New York Times ), Jen Psaki served as the thirty-fourth White House Press Secretary under President Biden until May 2022. Currently the host of MSNBC’s…
Frank Bruni | The Age of Grievance
In conversation with Karen Heller, former national features writer and current contributor for The Washington Post, formerly a metro and features columnist for the Philadelphia Inquirer, and a finalist for the 2001 Pulitzer Prize in…
Erik Larson | The Demon of Unrest: A Saga of Hubris, Heartbreak, and Heroism at the Dawn of the Civil War
In conversation with award winning broadcaster and journalist, Tracey Matisak. “America’s most compelling popular historian” (The Christian Science Monitor) , Erik Larson is the bestselling author of eight critically acclaimed books,…
Karen Valby | The Swans of Harlem: Five Black Ballerinas, Fifty Years of Sisterhood, and Their Reclamation of a Groundbreaking History
Featuring: Lydia Abarça, Sheila Rohan, Marcia Sells, Karlya Shelton, and Khadija Tariyan (daughter of Gayle McKinney Griffith) In conversation with Shelly Power, The Dr. Carolyn Newsom Executive Director, Philadelphia Ballet Karen Valby…
Dasha Kiper | Travelers to Unimaginable Lands: Stories of Dementia, the Caregivers, and the Human Brain
In conversation with Dr. Jason Karlawish In partnership with the Philadelphia Chamber Music Society The clinical consulting director of support groups at The CaringKind (formerly The Alzheimer's Association), Dasha Kiper has an MA in…
Amy Tan | The Backyard Bird Chronicles
In conversation with Beth Kephart A “master of illusion, and one of the best storytellers around” (NPR), Amy Tan is the author of the beloved novels The Joy Luck Club , a finalist for the National Book Award and the National Book…
Bakari Sellers | The Moment: Thoughts on the Race Reckoning That Wasn't and How We All Can Move Forward Now
In 2006, Bakari Sellers defeated a twenty-six-year incumbent State Representative to become the youngest member of the South Carolina state legislature and the youngest African American elected official in the nation. The state’s 2014…
David E. Sanger | New Cold Wars: China's Rise, Russia's Invasion, and America's Struggle to Defend the West
In conversation with Robert E. Hamilton, Head of Eurasia Research - Eurasia Program, Foreign Policy Research Institute Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation Endowed Lecture The White House and national security correspondent for The New York…
R. Jisung Park | Slow Burn: The Hidden Costs of a Warming World
In conversation with Patrick Behrer, Research Economist, Development Economics, World Bank How the subtle but significant consequences of a hotter planet have already begun—from lower test scores to higher crime rates—and how we might…
Dennis Yi Tenen | Literary Theory for Robots: How Computers Learned to Write
Dennis Yi Tenen is an associate professor of English at Columbia University, where he also serves as co-director of the Center for Comparative Media. Affiliated with Columbia’s Data Science Institute, he is a former fellow at the…
Tricia Rose | Metaracism: How Systemic Racism Devastates Black Lives—and How We Break Free
In conversation with award-winning journalist and broadcaster Tracey Matisak Acclaimed for her study of the intersections of pop music, contemporary Black U.S. culture, and sex and gender, sociologist Tricia Rose is the author of…
Lydia Millet | We Loved it All: A Memory of Life
Praised for her “darkly funny and painfully sharp” ( Los Angeles Times ) fiction, Lydia Millet is the author of the novel A Children’s Bible , shortlisted for the National Book Award and a New York Times Top 10 book of 2020; the…
Stacey Abrams | Rogue Justice: A Thriller
In conversation with award-winning journalist and broadcaster, Tracey Matisak Introduced by State Rep. Donna Bullock Stacey Abrams is the Ronald W. Walters Endowed Chair for Race and Black Politics at Howard University. After serving…
Julia Alvarez | The Cemetery of Untold Stories: A Novel
Barbara Gohn Day Memorial Lecture In conversation with Rebeca L. Hey-Colón, Professor of Latinx Studies, Temple University Awarded the National Medal of Arts by President Obama in 2013, poet, essayist, and fiction writer Julia Alvarez…
Sloane Crosley | Grief is for People
“A fountain of observations” ( The Boston Globe ), Sloane Crosley is the author of three New York Times bestselling essay collections, How Did You Get This Number, Look Alive Out There, and I Was Told There’d Be Cake , which was a…
ZOOM Trivia Games
ZOOM-from PBS Kids! A game to play with your friends or family. For grades 4 and up.
ZOOM
ZOOM from PBS-by kids, for kids. Lots of fun science activities. Grades 2 and up; may need adult supervision.
Ziggity Zoom
This site offers a variety that will appeal to preschool and younger elementary age children. Online and printable activities are available.
Zero to Three
The mission of Zero to Three is to promote the healthy development of infants and toddlers. This website provides a breadth of behavioral and developmental information for parents, as well as suggestions for creating positive learning…
Zenkaikon
The Philadelphia-area Anime Convention.
ZDNet
A wholly-owned subsidiary of CNET networks, ZDNet aims to be the "premier 'full service' destination for people looking to buy, use, and learn more about technology." On its site, the company offers news, product reviews, downloads, free…
Zamzar
Free Online File Converter
Yves St. Laurent
Yves St. Laurent launched his label in 1962 and turned the fashion world on its ear with his mix of pantsuits and fitted gowns. The line is now supervised by Stefano Pilati, whose innovative designs continue the legacy of St. Laurent…
Yuckiest Site on the Internet
From Discovery.com - The Yuckiest Site on the Internet! Join Wendell the worm and check out his buggy scrapbook! For grades 3 and up.
Youthspeaks.org
Provides safe spaces to empower the next generation of leaders, self-defined artists, and visionary activists through written and oral literacies.
YouthSpeak Newsletter
YouthSpeak is a grassroots citizen organization working to empower youth and to allow youth to make the democratic choices that affect their lives.
YouthRules!
Information from the U.S. Department of Labor for teens, parents, educators, employers and the public on Federal and State rules regarding young workers, to help ensure a safe and positive work experience for young people.
Youth work Links and Ideas
This site's author has a Master's Degree in Social Work from Boston University School of Social Work, and 20 years experience working with adolescents. The site is comprehensive and contains frequently updated links pages for youth and…
Youth Violence Fact Sheet
This site from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention lists current statistics on youth violence, including risk factors.
Youth United for Change (YUC)
Youth United for Change (YUC) is a democratic organization primarily made up of working class youth of color, which builds the “people power" necessary to hold school officials and government accountable to guarantee the educational…
Youth Service America: National Child Awareness Month Youth Ambassador Program
Year-long program helps young leaders (ages 16-22) create change around critical issues facing youth today.
Youth Health Empowerment Project (Y-HEP)
Y-HEP's mission is to help young people grow into healthy adults by supporting them in empowering themselves to make healthy choices. They offer outreach and drop-in services.
Youth Health Empowerment Project
Youth Drop-In Center
YourDictionary
Provides an easy-to-use search engine for words and the results are quite detailed. Also offers 400 different language dictionaries.
You Can Play Sax
Community video lessons by and for saxophone players. Watch video lessons to improve your skill or upload a lesson yourself to help others learn the instrument! A space for instructors and students.
American Presidency Series
Join the Free Library for a series of compelling provocative programs that examine the untold stories of, unconventional approaches to, and contemporary concerns about the world's most difficult job. The 2016 American Presidency Series…
Anime and Manga
In Japanese, the word "anime" simply refers to all animation. Outside of Japan, the term "anime" refers specifically to Japanese animation. Anime comes in a wide variety of genres and encompasses both film and television animation. It…
Asian Americans
Asian American resources for teens, cultural traditions and celebrations, biographies on famous Asian Americans, history of different Asian ethnic groups in America, lesson plans for teachers to explore a variety of Asian cultures, Asian…
Black History Month
In celebration of Black History Month and African American History as a whole, explore our resources on African American history and culture including famous African Americans From Philadelphia, Poets and Poetry, Speculative Fiction,…
Black Lives Matter
The #BlackLivesMatter movement began in 2013 after a jury acquitted the armed civilian who murdered seventeen-year-old Trayvon Martin. Though activists and organizers have resisted the long history of police and state-sanctioned…
Computer Skills
Do you feel comfortable using a computer or navigating the Internet? The links and resources below may be able to help you get started. Learn basic computer skills and tablet skills. Find easy instructions on surfing the Internet. Build…
Digital Media Guide
Borrowing ebooks and audiobooks, downloading podcasts, and streaming media such as movies, music, and even comic books, from Free Library has never been easier. In this guide, we'll offer tips and information to get you started or…
Fix It Yourself
Resources on how to do your own repairs on everyday items: Grab the scissors for sewing projects, drapery, upholstery, or even a haircut! View a list of do it yourself videos and tackle some of those household chores on your to-do list!…
Genealogy
This series of guides, web links, book lists, and resources will introduce you to the genealogical resources available through the Free Library of Philadelphia and to other important libraries and archives throughout the Philadelphia…
Graphic Novels
Graphic novels are, simply defined, book-length comics. Sometimes they tell a single, continous narrative from first page to last; sometimes they are collections of shorter stories or individual comic strips. Comics are sequential visual…
Green Living
Green living allows you to become an everyday environmentalist. Practitioners of sustainable living often attempt to reduce their carbon footprint by altering methods of transportation, energy consumption, and diet. Go green with these…
Grimm
Explore the world of the Brothers Grimm and their legendary tales.
Health
What are your health questions? The Free Library can connect you with resources to help you live a healthier lifestyle, including research tools, cooking classes, resources to help you quit smoking or increase your exercise, and…
Job Seekers
The Free Library supports job seekers within the Business Resource & Innovation Center (BRIC). We provide current information and resources on changing careers, job searching techniques, and emerging employment fields to help career…
LGBTQ
The Free Library of Philadelphia celebrates LGBTQ+ Pride Month in June with book and film recommendations and events for all ages. Through this Explore Topic, you can also find local and national LGBTQ+ resources and support that…
Martin Luther King Jr.
Martin Luther King Jr. was the most important voice of the American civil rights movement, which worked for equal rights for all. He was famous for using nonviolent resistance to overcome injustice, and he never got tired of trying to…
Medieval Manuscripts
Are you interested in learning more about the history of people who lived in Europe between 500 and 1500 A.D.? Below you can find helpful information for your research or check out our Medieval Manuscript Digital Collection with over…
Personal Finance
The Free Library supports the economic well-being and financial interests of patrons. We provide current information and resources on a variety of topics such as budgeting, homeownership, credit repair, and investing. Through the explore…
Philadelphia Cooks
Explore diverse cooking styles and cuisine throughout Philadelphia, read cookbooks by renowned Philly chefs, learn about the latest nutritional values and advancements, search or browse through The Philadelphia Inquirer's restaurant and…
Poetry
Poetry in all its forms including classic selections from our Literature Department, Haikus, poetry for children, and poetry with special appeal for tweens and teens. Read poets from diverse cultures and in other languages, as well as…
Returning Citizens
Resources for returning citizens in the transition from incarceration to society including information on job training, housing assistance, and counseling services. One such resource is Bridges, which offers returning citizens from jails…
STEM
An acronym referring to the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics fields of study. The term was created for schools from kindergarten through college to improve competitiveness in learning and workforce development. "Science"…
Voting and Elections
Discover information on voter registration, elections, and the different ways to cast your ballot in Pennsylvania. You'll also find comprehensive guides on understanding your rights as a voter, tips for researching candidates and issues,…